top of page
  • Writer's pictureLuciano Pugliano

Interactive Narrative


For my interactive narrative, I chose to connect my blogs focus with the project. The series of choices and decisions in the samples we looked at in class reminded me of one of my own experiences. Specifically, I thought about a time where I was running with my teammates in a new place that took us on quite the adventure.



The Story

A brief rundown on some of the background without spoiling the game. My teammates and I were headed to a new trail to meet our coach. She dropped us off at what she thought was the starting point and planned on heading to the end of the trail to meet us at the finish. She had run the trail once before and gave us some landmarks to keep in mind along the way. Little did we know that she dropped us off at the wrong spot and it took us quite a while to find our way back to the ending.


Forming the Game

I knew to go into this assignment that I wanted to list all of the possible outcomes and routes this journey took us on. The actual trail has numerous possibilities so I tried to keep it limited but made sure to include all of the main ones. My favorite part of the entire process was rehashing this memory with my teammates beforehand. It was such a funny experience and made for a conversation full of laughs.



Prior to this project, I had never heard of Twine or really any interactive narrative platforms similar to it. After watching an instructional video on how to use the platform, I decided to follow through with my choice. The platform was confusing at first, but once I understood how to use it I got the hang of things fast. I kept it simple but tried to include some coding skills I learned in web development.


Recap

I learned through this process that interactive narratives are challenging to make, but a unique way to tell an ordinary story. The biggest struggle I had was finding a host site and uploading the HTML code into that site. After researching the platforms I chose Neocities (mostly because it's free) and for its outstanding reviews. My favorite part of the process had to be the challenge of coding. I fully expect some degree of coding in my future digital marketing careers. With this being my last semester I decided to put my knowledge to the test and attempt some of the simple tasks I could recall. We Development was one of my harder courses so I am glad to see I can have success with those skills.


Please view the story here.

6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page